RSS

Empathy

16 Sep

I was thinking I would diversify a bit…..not the everyday poem post but something about poetry that interests. What do you say? Any suggestions?

In the mean time an old poem, well maybe three years old…..about empathy…..being in the other man’s shoes or head.

 

 

Children look through balloons.

The world is round, it’s true.

 

Conversation dribbles

Like a ball that doesn’t

Know its tryst,

Yet sorrow seeks,

I feel another’s pain.

 

The white sheets crumple

As his fingers clench.

His eyes refuse to believe

That time does run out

And win the race finally.

 

I can do nothing

Except count my fingers

Or continue talking……

 

Someone else’s voice, I think.

I take the children’s hands and go home.

 

© neelthemuse,2011

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 16, 2011 in Children

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Your take....

 
