RSS

Superstition

21 Oct

This poem is several years old. Part of me is sentimental about it, it being an old poem that has survived this long. So a small part of it for the Buddha Rocks Project Day 2. Some poems wait for pictures.

*

When they thought I was unlucky

They moved me, the laughing Buddha,

A porcelain roundness punctuated by a smile…….

 

 

I have an advantage by the window-

I can see all, milk cat with a fish in its teeth,

A train of black ants follow their appetite,

 

My guests, innocent, coming and going,

A continuous flux. Change is then a good thing

I tell the dust of Baamiyan.

                                                                          *

 

 

© neelthemuse,2011

 
11 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2011 in Mythical

 

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “Superstition

  1. Evelyn

    October 21, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    last two lines are TOTALLY intriguing…

    Like

     
  2. yoga-adan

    October 21, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    “Some poems wait for pictures” – definitely!

    found that out via my 1st ebook, http://tinyurl.com/3ss7ekb , “30 Year Sampler”

    i’d originally intended to have a pic or two, and ended up with 15! not including the cover!

    i feel like the buddha in your poem, “Change is then a good thing / I tell the dust of Baamiyan”

    btw, like your idea of posting an older work, it it’s good it’s good, doesn’t matter from when 😉

    Like

     
  3. Eric

    October 21, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    Nice to see my Buddha inspire such a file piece.

    Like

     
  4. thebabelblog

    October 21, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    A porcelain roundness punctuated by a smile……. This was my favorite line. I think the picture fits the line perfectly.

    Like

     
  5. neelthemuse

    October 23, 2011 at 11:25 am

    Thank you……though I’m thinking of re-editing it…..can you guess how?

    Like

     
  6. neelthemuse

    October 23, 2011 at 11:26 am

    Glad the photographer himself approves! Such great pictures you have….

    Like

     
  7. neelthemuse

    October 23, 2011 at 11:29 am

    That’s great! I’m glad my thoughts could resonate with yours!

    Like

     
  8. neelthemuse

    October 23, 2011 at 11:29 am

    Evelyn thank you…..:)

    Like

     
  9. thebabelblog

    October 26, 2011 at 4:38 am

    hmm, not sure. It has a pretty good rhythm already. My guess would be placing the picture before the “porcelain roundness line.”

    Like

     
  10. neelthemuse

    October 27, 2011 at 9:10 am

    Picture placement is also important…..you’re right……..thanks!

    Like

     

Your take....

 
