RSS

On a dead soldier who sees his body in a garbage truck

27 Oct

I believe that most of what I write are dedications. It’s always to someone known or unknown. Here’s part of a poem to an unknown soldier.

 

*

After the fighting

I come to terms

With my story

 

Buttery dough my mother

Feline grace my wife

My child

 

That stretches me.

 

I wasn’t prepared in all honesty

The academy didn’t teach us this.

 

There was an outcry about my body

I looked on at the din

A circle of breath around my rot

Orgasms for bees and rodents

 

Now I am food.

**

© neelthemuse,2011

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2011 in Day to day

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “On a dead soldier who sees his body in a garbage truck

  1. simon7banks

    October 27, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    Painful, beautiful, painful. I returned to this subject myself recently, but it’ll be a while before I post it. A big influence on me when I was about 18 was a collection of British First World War poets – Owen, Sassoon, Blunden, Graves and many not famous perhaps because they died too soon. To this I added Rosenberg, who was much ignored till a more recent time and now again. I was taught the history of the period by a man whose father had been gassed in the trenches (and survived): he brought it painfully alive.

    Like

     
  2. yoga-adan

    October 27, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    very powerful

    esp liked,

    I wasn’t prepared in all honesty

    The academy didn’t teach us this

    Now I am food.

    Like

     
  3. helenl

    October 28, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    Very nicely written. I like “I wasn’t prepared in all honesty” and “A circle of breath around my rot….”

    Like

     
  4. neelthemuse

    October 29, 2011 at 3:31 am

    Thank you so much for your kindness. Appreciate it!

    Like

     
  5. neelthemuse

    October 29, 2011 at 3:33 am

    Thank you Simon…..look forward to reading your account of the miserable soldier. The worst part is that this poem is based on a recent event of a soldier who is not given his dues.

    Like

     

Your take....

 
