RSS

When an absent minded man searches for his yesterday

02 Jan

It is rather odd how disorganized/eccentric/absent-minded people who do not make checklists spend a large part of their lives searching for mundane things like glasses.

 

But I left my glasses there, right there on the table

The little one by the stair, silly me to keep it by the table

Near the stair, but that is where I left it and now it isn’t there?

My wife had told me to get a spare, but I couldn’t bear the thought

Of separating from my sturdy set,

And here I am again fumbling, bumbling, stumbling,

I thought death undid!

I thought my pretty wife would clean up my things

Before they sprouted wings, and arrange them safe

Just to get a smell of me, a lingering waft of face,

A  touch of my jacket, a feel of the rim,

A pasted photograph of her glorious him,

No, she packed me away.

 

I want to forget, she said

Throw all the books that he read

Unwalk those roads he did tread

Maybe a new massage in his bed?

 

© neelthemuse,2012

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 2, 2012 in Day to day, humour

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “When an absent minded man searches for his yesterday

  1. yoga-adan

    January 2, 2012 at 11:45 am

    cute, nice turn 😉

    “her glorious him,

    No, she packed me away.”

    Like

     
  2. granbee

    January 3, 2012 at 10:45 am

    Neel, there is a lot more to this than a missing pair of reading glasses. Do you see clearly now?

    Like

     
  3. neelthemuse

    January 3, 2012 at 11:26 am

    Am so glad you mentioned that granbee….is a personal favourite.

    Like

     
  4. neelthemuse

    January 3, 2012 at 11:29 am

    Yeah yoga adan I had a lot of fun writing this one:)

    Like

     
  5. ClaireMcA

    January 3, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    Very fun poem, like it indeed. “unwalk those roads he did tread” heart stopping!

    Like

     
  6. Yousei Hime

    January 4, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    I too like that “her glorious him,/No, she packed me away.” The triplet rhyme at the end make forgetting difficult. Irony in that the poem started with forgetfulness. Thank you for your read of my surrealist inspired poem.

    Like

     
  7. neelthemuse

    January 5, 2012 at 8:53 am

    Thank you Yousei…surrealism is interesting, especially for poets!

    Like

     
  8. neelthemuse

    January 5, 2012 at 8:55 am

    Am so happy you stopped by Claire. I love your posts!

    Like

     

Your take....

 
