RSS

Work on Weekends

24 Jan

 

Work has become such an integral part of life today that spouses tend to ignore each other. One starts ignoring the other and then the other retaliates by returning that lack. The cycle does not end, and gets particularly acute when work happens on successive weekends. In the end a little voice hits one spouses’ conscience- the voice of emotion, something hard to terminate.

 

Excuse me, but there is only this much of me that you can ignore.

I have wings, I fly, return, always through the night windows when the draft

Shifts those curtains, that’s me in the moon shadows.

 

Talk to me for god’s sake, eliminate bad taste, it’s easy if you try

If only you two can spend a little time, an hour or two, taking me in your arms

Like a new-born babe, if only you two could fall in love again, then?

 

You are cold like night chill. Your eyes look sideways, you don’t drink each other in,

Something is cracking and falling apart, a vase of flowers, promises on the floor.

Do you really think you can go on living, living, dying like fossils. How long?

 

You’ll always dig me up in the end even if you don’t want to, like a picture or a letter

Wedged angular in a drawer so memories wouldn’t keep. You buried me in prayer before I died,

Reflections come rising up with the waves, so don’t even try to dissect the murmer in the heart that

Beats. I’ll be back.

 

© neelthemuse, 2012

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 24, 2012 in Day to day, Love

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

14 responses to “Work on Weekends

  1. simon7banks

    January 24, 2012 at 4:26 pm

    Wow, WordPress now makes me enter username and password just to LIKE this! What have you done to offend them, neel?

    This poem is brilliant, sad and hopeful. “That’s me in the moon shadows”. Love it.

    Like

     
  2. takingsnaps

    January 24, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    So true and so important to remember each other and find the time. Well written.

    Like

     
  3. granbee

    January 24, 2012 at 9:00 pm

    Wonderful use of implied dialogue here between the relevant parties. I particularly liked the mixture of the spiritual with the fleshly, erasing the dividing line as it actually should be erased in a marriage.

    Like

     
  4. neelthemuse

    January 25, 2012 at 3:23 am

    Thanks granbee for your insight!

    Like

     
  5. neelthemuse

    January 25, 2012 at 3:26 am

    Thank you for bringing your photographic eye to this poem!

    Like

     
  6. neelthemuse

    January 25, 2012 at 3:28 am

    I guess the censorship poem did it:)

    Simon thank you for appreciating this one- it came from the heart, so guess it means more to the reader….

    Like

     
  7. lscotthoughts

    January 25, 2012 at 4:49 am

    This is so true to life and very insightful to relationships disintegrating, due to lack of time spent together…communicating is the key, the rest will follow~ Wonderfully written, Neel!

    Like

     
  8. Louise Jaques

    January 28, 2012 at 2:18 am

    This stanza is to die for “You are cold like night chill. Your eyes look sideways, you don’t drink each other in,

    Something is cracking and falling apart, a vase of flowers, promises on the floor.

    Do you really think you can go on living, living, dying like fossils. How long?”

    It’s something I truly wish I could have penned. It is so timeless and multilayered. I love it!

    Like

     
  9. Caddo Veil

    January 28, 2012 at 3:46 am

    Oh wow–I don’t know if I’m sad, or just very moved. Great stuff…(and I’m so not good at relationships, or even relation-dinghies).

    Like

     
  10. neelthemuse

    January 29, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    I don’t think anyone is good at relationships Caddo…you just have to be with the right person- the person who likes that side of you that you don’t….thank you:)

    Like

     
  11. neelthemuse

    January 29, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    Wow Louise thanks! Hope you’re well now….missed you!

    Like

     
  12. neelthemuse

    January 29, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    Great advice Lauren….Thanks!

    Like

     
  13. Caddo Veil

    February 3, 2012 at 3:33 am

    Wow, Neel–that is the Coolest way I’ve ever heard it put, in my whole crazy life!! You have to be with “the person who likes that side of you that you don’t”. Not that I actually have the energy to seek anyone again–but I’m curious how one would pursue that “find”. Generally–so I’ve heard–one is supposed to advertise all his/her positives….

    Like

     
  14. neelthemuse

    February 3, 2012 at 4:15 am

    🙂 Guess the ‘find’ is about fate Caddo…you know ‘if it is meant to be, it will be’….God bless!

    Like

     

Your take....

 
