RSS

Spaced Out

17 May

Yes, I admit I’ve been on the move quite a bit and now am back home. Is traveling without continuous access to technology a good thing for a blogger of poetry? Bad and good- as poems have to come out of zero expectation. At least for me….

 

when I wake up someone is not in the  room

the birds have changed colour, the clock reminds of different chores

upside down is right side up. whichever way I look maps pour out the sea

 

clowns then time

they juggle memories

they shift the man in your head

the conviction that you recognize

me, I, mine.

 

© neelthemuse,2012

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2012 in Day to day

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Spaced Out

  1. granbee

    May 17, 2012 at 9:36 pm

    Wonderful to have one’s concept of one’s self turned on its head. This is one of the rewards of traveling, I have found.

    Like

     
  2. Louise Jaques

    May 22, 2012 at 1:49 am

    “Maps pour out the sea…” what an outstanding piece of imagery that is!!!

    Like

     
  3. neelthemuse

    May 22, 2012 at 4:40 am

    Thank you so much Louise..:) I think I should work on that idea a little more….

    Like

     
  4. neelthemuse

    May 22, 2012 at 4:42 am

    Absolutely granbee- its surprising how much of ourselves remain a mystery…

    Like

     
  5. simon7banksS

    June 3, 2012 at 11:11 am

    I was surprised by the line “clowns then time” and think I don’t understand it but find it slightly disturbing (may be a good thing). I was fascinated by the poem as a whole.

    As for the question – I hate the idea of being in constant touch with your ordinary world while travelling. We all need to escape that world from time to time, and without that, our poetic streams may dry up. It does mean, though, that regular visitors to your blog wonder whether you’ve stopped blogging: it’s worst if they don’t follow the blog but have formed the habit of checking it out from time to time: then you may lose them. But no doubt where you are as where I am, police advise not to blog that you’re going away. Someone viewing your blog may be a burglar!

    Like

     
  6. neelthemuse

    June 4, 2012 at 3:42 am

    If I had made it The clown then time, it would sound absurd….don’t you think? Must rework the whole thing….

    Oh dear! I hadn’t thought of the going away bit being so provocative….thank you Simon for your advice…..

    Like

     

Your take....

 
