RSS

Can’t

26 May

I’ve been thinking a lot about poetry and how it should be published. As part of that thinking I’m hoping to post some interviews by fellow bloggers and poets on their views about what poetry blogging implies.

 

Have you ever had a poem that you really love as though it were your child? The kind of poem that you would rather keep to yourself than share? I’m sure each of us has one or even several such poems that we reserve for a later date. Over time those poems are gaps that are waiting to be filled…

I am tempted to show you to the world

But something wraps you like a present

And I can not share.

 

The greed that purses lips

The ego that monks trample

The full stop midway that turns question mark?

 

It is hard to say what happens when you drive down a road

You once saw, but now looks all tropical, differently tinted,

Neuronly differentiated, you turn into Alice in wonderland, blunderland,

And the things that you once took for granted no longer promise.

Reality no prism at all, just the VIBGYOR- every strand a cue.

 

© neelthemuse,2012

 
10 Comments

Posted by on May 26, 2012 in Challenge, Day to day

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Can’t

  1. Caddo Veil

    May 27, 2012 at 11:43 pm

    I have to say that I am experiencing a new freedom and joy in sharing my work–no longer feel the need to hide it.

    Like

     
  2. neelthemuse

    May 29, 2012 at 10:38 am

    That is lovely Caddo! It really shows in your blog… your conviction is so heart felt. Thank you!

    Like

     
  3. grace whiting

    June 1, 2012 at 9:48 am

    The access that I have via Blogs to poetry , photography , design , astounds me. Pleasure , mind expansion , thought tingling , so much more than I could ever source and enjoy daily in any other medium. To all , please keep posting poetry , it inspires , it caresses language.
    Grace Whiting , Canada

    Like

     
  4. neelthemuse

    June 2, 2012 at 4:15 am

    Such lovely words Grace….and so true. Thank you……

    Like

     
  5. granbee

    June 2, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    I have never experienced so much fulfillment as when I started blogging and sharing poems several times a week out there for all to see!

    Like

     
  6. neelthemuse

    June 3, 2012 at 4:30 am

    That is beautifully put granbee- and I must tell you that reading your comments is so fulfilling!

    Like

     
  7. lscotthoughts

    June 8, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    I have to echo Caddo and Granbee’s words in saying that I have truly loved and learned through this blogging experience of sharing my poems…Not only has my blog grown, but I have, too, in learning more about poetry through reading others work and through comments I’ve received~

    Like

     
  8. simon7banksS

    June 8, 2012 at 3:37 pm

    I can’t say I have written a poem I loved but didn’t want to share. When I write it’s on the assumption that I will share. I can be nervous when the poem means a huge amount to me, that it might be dismissed, but sharing has made me confident that even if this happens with one person or group, it won’t be the common reaction.

    Like

     
  9. neelthemuse

    June 9, 2012 at 4:09 am

    Very true Simon….sometimes I think the poem could grow into something else, so I hold on to it a bit more hoping that it will happen. Blogging really challenges one’s beliefs- sometimes what I hold dear is not necessarily the ‘popular’ idea.

    Like

     
  10. neelthemuse

    June 9, 2012 at 4:11 am

    Blogging is sheer giving and receiving so much support from all over the world- that’s something I learnt! Thank you Lauren….

    Like

     

Your take....

 
