RSS

Caddo Veil: The Haiku Blogger

08 Jun

Like I promised in my post Can’t, I will be doing some interviews with bloggers I know and don’t know about what writing poetry implies, particularly in the blog format.

I’m happy to start the series with Caddo Veil. She’s a prolific haiku writer and quite a regular blogger.  I talked to her about what she makes of the entire blogging process.

Why blog poetry?

Blogging poetry allows me to share my writing with a larger audience.  It moves the old poems out of the yellowing folder, and motivates me to write every other day, at least.(Interesting…she Writes the poems first, types afterward)

Tell me about your blog journey. What is the difference between then(when you started out) and now?

When I started the blog in August 2011, I figured it would last two weeks, at best.  I’ve discovered A LOT, as both the blog and I have grown.  It has afforded me opportunity to learn and practise different poetry forms–receive good criticism and encouragement.  And it has pushed me, personally, to take more risks with my poetry and sharing about myself.

Many writers say that blogging is counter-productive- if you blog poems you can’t get published….does that bother you?

Blog posting IS Publishing!  The satisfaction I receive with the blog outweighs the stress involved with shopping my work to agents/publishers, or marketing myself for self-publication.  If you want to make a living at writing, it seems blogging is verboten, at least in the beginning–although I’m idealistic enough to believe that if someone stumbles upon a blog of exceptional writing, there might be a goldmine waiting to be struck–you never know.  

Some writers desire to see their work printed and bound, so they must avoid the blog road, I’ve heard.  Writers have different goals–having surrendered my youthful dreams, the blog experience is very satisfying to me in my silvering years.

Why haiku/tanka? How do you compress your thoughts into the prescribed-number syllable structure?

Haiku and tanka forms provide the challenge of “being concise”, and offer the ease of creating more volume in less time, and keeping the flow going.  In essence, they’re less work for me.  Bloggers who follow a significant number of poets have expressed that they appreciate shorter posts!

(When I persistently ask her how she got into haiku, she thinks and says)

 long before the Internet was birthed–must have learned it in high school English class.

You’ve been following a whole lot of poetry blogs- what do you think is wrong with the approach of poet bloggers in general? What works?

I really can’t judge what might be “wrong” with the approach of some poet bloggers.  Poetry is subjective–what “works” for one person, won’t for another.  If you’re speaking about attracting and keeping readers, I guess you would either  attempt to calculate who your audience will be or  simply discover them and go from there. 

But again, it depends on what your goal is.  Personally, I have to stay true to my heart, write what’s inside me–regardless of “stats”.

Do you post All the poems you write?

With the exception of a handful or so, I do post all the poems I write.

Are you bothered about plagiarism on the web?

Plagiarism on the web would bother me a lot–IF I was aware of it.  But I don’t have time to search for evidence that someone is stealing my work.  Kind of a “if I don’t see it, it’s not there” mentality (which also works well for housecleaning).

(I’m smiling)

Who is your favourite poet and why?

My favorite poet?  On  blogs or historically, the answer’s the same, either way–I have too many to name.  I love some poets for their style of writing, or their ability to create imagery–and some because they speak of things I know intimately, and make me feel less “odd”.

(So I prod on for some names, I knew Dickenson would be on the list):

Emily Dickinson(see!), John Donne, Christina Rossetti, Col. John McCrae, King David (Old Testament writer of many Psalms), the Brownings, Edna St Vincent Millay, Edgar Allen Poe.

Any advice for poet bloggers?

My advice to poet bloggers would be to figure out your goals and expectations first, if you can.  The toughest part of blogging can be the comments– you need to decide how you’re going to manage them, before they manage you.

(I’m smiling again)

I really enjoyed talking to Caddo. Hope you liked the interview. 

As a follow-up to this series, do have a look at my latest tweet: I read a brilliant blog post on the reason for blogging- an unlikely comparison between blogs and scrolls….

 

© neelthemuse,2012

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on June 8, 2012 in Day to day

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Caddo Veil: The Haiku Blogger

  1. lscotthoughts

    June 8, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    What a wonderful idea, Neel, and Caddo is on my favorite list, so this was very enjoyable to read. Thanks for pursuing this for the rest of us! And Happy Friday to you!
    Lauren 🙂

    Like

     
  2. Debbie

    June 9, 2012 at 12:59 am

    Thank you for the great interview with Caddo! 🙂

    Like

     
  3. Julie Catherine

    June 9, 2012 at 1:16 am

    Wonderful interview, with one of my favorite bloggers and dear friend, sis Caddo Delight! Caddo’s Haiku and Tankas – and indeed, all her poems – are absolutely beautiful, moving and often quite profound. Thank you so much for featuring such an awesome poet! ~ Julie 🙂

    Like

     
  4. Julie Catherine

    June 9, 2012 at 1:20 am

    Reblogged this on Julie Catherine and commented:
    A lovely interview with our very own Caddo Veil! 🙂

    Like

     
  5. neelthemuse

    June 9, 2012 at 4:07 am

    So happy you appreciated it Julie!

    Like

     
  6. neelthemuse

    June 9, 2012 at 4:08 am

    Happy that you stopped by Debbie!

    Like

     
  7. neelthemuse

    June 9, 2012 at 4:10 am

    Am super excited that you liked the concept! I’ll be knocking on many poet’s doors soon:)!!!

    Like

     
  8. granbee

    June 9, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    I agree with Caddo that posting your poetry on your own blog should not automatically prevent the poems from being published in hardcover form. I for one am very grateful to Caddo for blogging her poetry, as she has provided much leadership for me as I move ahead with my own blog. Great interview, by the way!

    Like

     
  9. Poetry in Motion

    June 10, 2012 at 10:52 am

    Great post. Really interesting reading about another poet blogger journey.

    Like

     
  10. Louise Jaques

    June 16, 2012 at 7:03 am

    I think she said it all when she mentioned staying true to one’s heart! Well spoken Caddo!

    Like

     

Your take....

 
