RSS

Louise Jaques: Inspired Poet

18 Jun
My second interview is with poet blogger Louise Jaques.
Louise is a young writer living in Sydney who dabbles in performance poetry, baking, and napping in her spare time.
283169_243659975658079_100000422365891_889810_7638896_n.jpg
What compels you to blog poetry?
Initially, I began blogging poetry because I was tired of having scattered word documents floating around my computer, not being put to any real use. Other than the haphazard competition entry, I felt like I was doing a lot of writing without much purpose.
 
I liked the idea that I could have a place to organise, present and receive feedback on my poetry, and a blog seemed like the best idea!
(Couldn’t agree more!)
Do you think blogging poetry is an avenue to poetry publication in the mainstream?

Poetry publication, from what I understand, is a delicate and ambiguous field. Along with short stories, the other medium in which I dabble, it is notoriously difficult to get poetry published in the mainstream. I never harboured any grand ambition to have my poetry published in hard copy.

Though this has changed since I began blogging, (as I have felt myself improve, and have received positive feedback from readers), I still struggle to commit myself to finding a publisher. For me, blogging is its own kind of publishing – I feel I have an audience who appreciates my writing and with whom I experience a unique dialogue I might not have in print form.

Blogging poetry can most certainly be an avenue to mainstream poetry publication – though as bloggers, we have to take certain precautions. Often, entering competitions or submitting for journals specifies in submission guidelines that the poetry must not have been previously published in any way – including blogs. So whilst it can be a wonderful means of displaying your activity and commitment to the artform to prospective publishers, a blog can also harm your chances of monetary gain for your work – if that is indeed your motivation. I myself tend to keep my “really good” poems under wraps for submission, and post poetry that I want feedback on for improvement.

(Louise points out that a reworked poem, if done up sufficiently, can consitute an unpublished work).

What kind of poetry do you read?

I first studied poetry several years ago. We did “The Romantics” – Coleridge, Shelley, Blake, Wordsworth and Keats. I fell in love with all of them, Keats most of all for his achingly beautiful imagery and the sad, gentle tone of his expression. After this I discovered a new form of Romantic – the beat poet. Ginsberg, Bukowski and Carlos Williams have all been hugely influential.
How do you like to read your poems- aloud or in your head?

Reading poetry aloud is powerfully underestimated. I recently had the experience of having a stranger read my poem to me in a workshop, and immediately I noticed flaws in the tone and the word choice – when she took too long a pause, or stumbled over a more difficult passage. It should be a compulsory exercise to have someone else read your poem aloud, cold, without reading it in their head first.

What do you think a blogger of poetry must keep in mind when it comes to Quality, Quantity and Publication Problems?
 

Poetry bloggers must focus on quality if they want readership – like any other website. It’s all very well to write for oneself but if your aim is comments, page views or subscribers, the only thing that can achieve this is quality work. I feel I am too inconsistent with quantity – some weeks I will publish nothing at all – but I am fortunate to have dedicated readers who forgive me this laziness and come back to me!

What kind of future do you see for your poetry?

Though it sounds cliched, I really do write poetry for myself.(not cliched at all!) I truly believe that if no one else read it, or enjoyed it, I would still get immense pleasure from writing it. It is the truest expression of myself that I know. I have bits and bobs published in local publications and obtain enormous satisfaction from this small output.
What advice would you give blogging poets all over the world? 
My advice is not to be discouraged by the number of poets out there – simply because there is no one else quite like you. Your words are your own and they capture your own feeling – successful or not, widely read or by a small few. That ambiguity and subjectivity about poetry and other artforms is what makes them so appealing! Find your passion and don’t lose it.
 
And read. There is nothing more important in the world.
(Perfectly put….thank you Louise.)
Speaking with Louise was a joy. Hope you gained from this tête-à-tête as much as I did.
© neelthemuse,2012
 
21 Comments

Posted by on June 18, 2012 in Inspiration

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

21 responses to “Louise Jaques: Inspired Poet

  1. connellykevin

    June 18, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    Great interview, as a poet/blogger it was so refreshing to read a discussion on that very subject. I found I could only agree with and empathise with so much of what was both asked and said, thanks for posting, well worthwhile from my point of view, Kevin

    Like

     
  2. neelthemuse

    June 18, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    Thank you for the encouragement Kevin! Glad you like the series….

    Like

     
  3. simon7banks

    June 18, 2012 at 2:33 pm

    Thanks! Interesting, and I’ll look at Louise’s work.

    I’m not too sure how much I could learn from hearing one of my poems read “cold”, without preparation. I’d be reluctant to do that to someone else’s poem: I’d want to read it first and then speak it. Listening to that would be educative.

    Like

     
  4. lscotthoughts

    June 18, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    Another great interview, Neel, and more interesting and valuable insight from a new perspective. Thanks for sharing again~

    Like

     
  5. Words From the Moon

    June 18, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    What a wonderful interview – I love her views on the whole creative process itself; why do we write in the first place? I often ask myself that question, to see what answer I give myself on any given day. I love these interviews you are doing, I am thoroughly enjoying them 🙂

    Like

     
  6. yoga-adan

    June 18, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    besides the interestingness of each interview, it’s that the first two have had such differing questions; nice job all around neel, thanks!

    Like

     
  7. neelthemuse

    June 19, 2012 at 4:09 am

    Thanks yogadan! That’s what I’m looking for- diversity:)

    Like

     
  8. neelthemuse

    June 19, 2012 at 4:12 am

    I really appreciate your comment Kathy…I’m sure Louise will too!

    Like

     
  9. neelthemuse

    June 19, 2012 at 4:14 am

    Thanks for your encouragement Lauren!

    Like

     
  10. neelthemuse

    June 19, 2012 at 4:18 am

    I’ve never done that either…there are reading groups that I’m thinking of visiting but it has never happened yet. I do read poems to myself- when I’m in a rather good solitary mood:)

    Like

     
  11. Claire 'Word by Word'

    June 19, 2012 at 6:24 pm

    A wonderful and insightful exchange, thank you so much for sharing it.

    Like

     
  12. neelthemuse

    June 20, 2012 at 9:44 am

    I’m glad you enjoyed it Claire!

    Like

     
  13. Louise Jaques

    June 25, 2012 at 3:13 am

    Reblogged this on My other book is a Tolstoy and commented:
    My friend Neelima over at Neel the Muse was lovely enough to interview me on her series of interviews with poets who blog their work. Her blog is a joy – check it out!

    Like

     
  14. Louise Jaques

    June 25, 2012 at 3:16 am

    Thank you very much Neel for interviewing me and thank you to everyone who has read and commented 🙂

    Like

     
  15. neelthemuse

    June 25, 2012 at 8:18 am

    I loved interviewing you…thanks!

    Like

     
  16. http://namelessneed.wordpress.com/

    June 25, 2012 at 8:19 am

    Thanx so for yr insightfilled chat with W/ Louise, I regularly read & respect her work and to hear out
    her organized thoughts, stepping back from poem’s mystique some to talk about some realities
    is valuable info

    Like

     
  17. neelthemuse

    June 25, 2012 at 8:19 am

    Thanks Louise!:)

    Like

     
  18. deshipley

    June 25, 2012 at 9:16 pm

    Always a pleasure to hear from Louise. (: Thanks for hosting her, Neel! You seem to have a lovely place ’round here, yourself. *goes to nose around*

    Like

     
  19. neelthemuse

    June 27, 2012 at 4:58 am

    Thank you deshipley….really glad you stopped by:)

    Like

     
  20. neelthemuse

    June 27, 2012 at 6:00 am

    Glad you enjoyed it! Nice to know how the poet thinks:)

    Like

     

Your take....

 
