RSS

Empty

12 Sep

It is not that I’m ignoring you, my reader. Of course not. I think of you all the time. It is all i do. In fact it is ever since I started this blog that I decided that besides writing for magazines and doing book reviews, I needed to write this way as well which is creatively. I’m recovering from a fracture-hence the long silence and the plunging back into obsessive reading and introspection.

Crack the bone

And then you’re free

There is nothing you can do

But wait for processes to reassemble

 

There is nothing to do

Except remember the birth.

 

© neelthemuse,2012

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 12, 2012 in Day to day

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Empty

  1. simon7banks

    September 12, 2012 at 9:01 am

    I really like this and I’m not sure why. I like the sounds (“processes to reassemble” is full of soft sounds as of healing), the wryness, the suggestion of something more.

    Having demonstrated I have strong bones many times in my life by cracking my head hard, falling on wet steps or rocks and so on, the one break I’ve had was a little toe: I was in temprary accomodation having taken up a job in a new area and not yet sold my old house or bought a new one. I woke, padded across the room barefoot and struck the toe on a metal table leg almost the same colour as the carpet. I knew it was broken because it was sticking out at right angles. I had to push it back straight to put my sock on to go to the hospital.

    One thing I remember is the amused comradeship of misfortune – sharing my embarrassing circumstance with a building worker who’d been wearing steel-tipped boots while carrying something heavy and had neatly dropped the thing just above the steel tip. We could both see the funny side of our accidents.

    Hope the healing goes well. Best wishes.

    Like

     
  2. Caddo Veil

    September 12, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    Praying for a quick and complete healing.

    Like

     
  3. granbee

    September 12, 2012 at 8:13 pm

    Somehow, recovery from physical injuries often re-births the soul and springs forth new bursts of creativity, Neel!

    Like

     
  4. neelthemuse

    September 13, 2012 at 8:52 am

    You are so right granbee…thank you:)

    Like

     
  5. neelthemuse

    September 13, 2012 at 8:52 am

    Am I glad to see you Caddo….thank you for your prayers….

    Like

     
  6. neelthemuse

    September 13, 2012 at 8:57 am

    I’m so glad that my post triggered off so many of your fracture memories….my accident has a funny side as well. I tripped on a book while I was trying to get my son to go to bed. Had to go to the hospital instead:)
    Thank you Simon for your kind wishes!

    Like

     
  7. lscotthoughts

    September 14, 2012 at 2:39 am

    Neel, wishing you a smooth and quick recovery! I have to admit getting a chuckle from the funny side of your accident (feeling very guilty)! 🙂 Nonetheless, heal quickly!

    Like

     
  8. neelthemuse

    September 17, 2012 at 7:39 am

    Thanks Lauren! 🙂

    Like

     

Your take....

 
