RSS

Tagging Verse

06 Dec

I like twitter. It is an excellent medium for poets- add a hashtag to the word poetry and voila! Sing. Do follow me @neelthemuse and if you don’t have an account make one.

Why should you belong to another noisy social platform?

1.For the links that come out of the blue.(Disclaimer: I am not about to turn you into an addict- just use the medium, keeping in mind that you must also exercise restraint of use)

More and more, you come across ideas and thoughts at random. The kind of mad randomness  interesting for a poet because poetry is where all those emotions and ideas that can not be explained, are like ether somewhat, fuse and come together.

2.For knowing the publishing world.

So many publishers have hopped aboard. Worth a look(big presses and small ones) if you want to get published.

3.Another reason is you happen to read poets whom you should know but don’t.

This brings me to the question as to whether a poet should necessarily know All prominent poets. How many of us blogger poets really know all our poetry? Do we breathe in poetry like it is our life? Can we quote poets offhand? Do we know all there is to know about contemporary poetry or at least about poetry in the twentieth century? For that matter, do we know poets across the map?

I am thinking of doing a project the coming year in an attempt to address the questions that I shot at you right now. This idea leads me to a poem about what established poets could mean to the aspiring one.

 

I’m sorry I did not notice you
@ the canvas smoking your cigarette,
(So bad for you),and you with your head in the oven,
Come out- it’s hot.

And you do come out
In your hats and coats and scarves of another time
From the lips of men and women soaked in your dreams

You are property
You are quotes
Her? Before the oven
She drew blood from flowers
And he from art.

I do not recognize your faces

I  stand on your shoulders
And look @ elsewhere

The moon?

 

© neelthemuse,2012

 

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 6, 2012 in Inspiration

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Tagging Verse

  1. simon7bankss

    December 10, 2012 at 8:39 pm

    My problem with social media sites is that there are two of me. Not really – there’s either one, or a million. But now I’ve retired from a day job, my interface with the world outside my friends, the societies I belong to and the pub divides in two – writing and politics. To me they’re very different but interrelated; but people who like my poetry may be put off by my politics, people who agree with much of my politics may be allergic to poetry and I find a need to maintain two masks, neither misleading but neither complete. My LinkedIn and Facebook presence stresses the writing side, plus, in Facebook, my work on voluntary-statutory sector relations (I do a little consultancy). As I’m getting involved in active politics again, I keep hearing other campaigners have active presences on Twitter or Facebook or both. So who should I be where?

    Lovely poem, neel – somehow reminiscent of W.H. Auden.

    Like

     
  2. neelthemuse

    December 13, 2012 at 10:04 am

    Thank you Simon…sorry for the delayed response. I fiddled around with the comment settings and as a result failed to get an update.

    You are absolutely right about masks…social networking can bring out so many aspects of the you(in this case me) who freelance writes, the you who writes poems, the you who is on facebook but is awfully restrained about posting pictures and updates.

    The smartest way to use networking is to be the same you..in your case poetical and political. You just can’t separate yourself from the poet even if people are allergic to it. I have been doing it all my life Simon, hiding the poetry and not talking about it. I suppose most conversations have left me sad and uninspired because I refuse to talk about it or share it with others assuming that they will not understand, or do not care. Social networking could at least free you of this problem and affirm once and for all that you can be many things at the same time.

    Like

     
  3. simon7bankss

    December 13, 2012 at 10:41 am

    Thanks, neel. I don’t intend to hide from people interested in my political side that I write poetry, or from literary contacts that I’m political: in fact I’ve mentioned that more than once already on my poetry blog, for example in my review of “The Handmaid’s Tale”. The problem is that many people will go to a councillor or other local political campaigner’s social network presence to see what they think about a controversial development or whether they’ve identified any damaged pavements recently. It won’t encourage these people if half of what they see is about poetry – not because of prejudice against poetry (though that exists) but for the same reason that if I wanted home insurance, I wouldn’t want to wade through a lot of discussion about astronomy. If it’s possible to set up clickable subdivisions, that could be a solution.

    Like

     
  4. neelthemuse

    December 14, 2012 at 7:03 am

    Of course…:) Though being literary will put you in good stead in the long run. Wish you all luck!

    Like

     
  5. simon7banks

    December 18, 2012 at 5:46 pm

    Thanks!

    Like

     

Your take....

 
