RSS

Ashok Rajamani

27 Jun

What motivates you to write? This is a question that I would like to ask all the writers of the world. Ashok Rajamani’s life story is closer to fiction than non-fiction; yet he has lived the story and now written about it.

Put aside everything you know and just focus on this interview.

ashblue

Ashok Rajamani is an internationally published writer and poet in New York City. His recently-released, critically-acclaimed memoir, THE DAY MY BRAIN EXPLODED (Algonquin Books) is currently available in bookstores worldwide. The book, an irreverent and electric account of his amazing survival from a full-throttle brain aneurysm, is the first of its kind by any Indian American author in history.

Buy The Day My Brain Exploded

Visit Ashok Rajamani’s Official Website..

Did your brain injury lead you to writing more seriously? Tell us about your amazing journey to the THE DAY MY BRAIN EXPLODED: A TRUE STORY.

It was not a question about being more “serious” with my writing. I have always been serious about this craft. The difference in my writing, since my brain injury, rotates around one word: ‘authenticity.’ It took this horrible near-fatal incident to make me realize the extreme limitations of our lives — in other words, it made me realize, fully, the simple cliché: life is short. As such, an artist must do what s/he can to create inspiring work which rings true for the reader. It took years to write this memoir, and I hope I’ve been able to bare my soul in the process. I am extremely proud of the end result.

You write poetry, essay and books. How do you shift so seamlessly from one form of writing to the other?

I actually change my identity as the written word dictates. For instance, at one point I am Ashok the Poet, one point I am Ashok the Memoirist, and so on. I unconsciously alter myself to fit whatever media or expression I pursue at the time. I am also an artist, so Ashok the Artist is another identity too.

What do you think new writers should do to be successful in 2013 and beyond? What shouldn’t they do?

Plain and simple: new writers should never give up. Publishing is an incredibly horrifying profession; the rejections are countless. To be successful you have to be strong enough to face the criticism. More importantly, you have to be strong enough to break the rules. Many writers hear about how important it is to have an agent, or how to do queries and other such things. But, believe me, don’t listen to them! All those rules are a bunch of crap. I got a deal without an agent. I simply cold-called the editor. I wrote queries in my own strange way. I never followed – nor follow – rules. To be successful from here and beyond, don’t listen to the rules. Write what fulfills you – and stop at nothing at getting your words out. Self-publishing, digital publishing and other possibilities, are all new ways books are read. No more do we have to fear the old “establishment” of publishing houses. Be bold, be brave. But no matter the hurdles, keep on writing. Keep on Keeping on. We should always realize that, in order to get where we want to go, persistence is a must. No book, or poem, can exist without a full narrative.

As a writer who has dealt with brain injury, what kind of advice do you have to give to writers who want to deal with difficult health issues? Is there anything like too much honesty when you write about the darkest moments of your life?

First off, I want to say that the book was difficult to write because of my motor skills (my hands would often quiver on the keyboard), cognitive disability (I had to keep writing and reading notes due to my amnesia), and my visual handicaps (the hemorrhage left me blind in half of both my eyes, and I have faced multiple sight distortions). But I kept moving forward.

I swiveled the mirror so I could see; I made comprehensive outlines; I used a ruler to help me delineate the margins; I did whatever it took to keep writing. So, to all the disabled writers who don’t think they can do it – you’re only as good as the limitations you set for yourselves.

Now, to answer your question: writing about one’s health issues is a personal matter. What happened to me is not unique – brain injury is faced by many. I think what made the difference is that I had a compulsion to document it. It takes a certain motivation (some would say derangement) to write about your health nightmares. So I can’t advise other survivors or patients on how to move forward with writing their experiences. All I can say is that it is not easy to revisit the terrors you’ve experienced. Be prepared to have meltdowns in the fight to write about your life.

As for being honest, I don’t think there is such a thing as “too much” honesty about disclosing a health crisis. Even a lie always reveals the truth. The main problem is trying to convince your family not to hate you for revealing family secrets!

Is there any writer who has inspired you more than your life?

There is not just one writer who inspires me. There are many, all of whom have been able to conflate sorrow with humor. My memoir never gets too mawkish; laughter is stronger than sorrow. Tears of joy carry more power than tears of pain, so I adore poets, novelists, and memoirists who understand the importance of mixing comedy with drama. Faves include the following writers: Katherine Dunn, David Sedaris, Augusten Burroughs, T.S. Eliot, and Herodotus. On a grander scale, you can’t beat the fictional or non-fictional Vyasa, the mythical wordsmith credited for writing the greatest poem ever made: The Mahabharata.

Thank you Ashok for your time. Your advice is invaluable to writers who procrastinate and those who try, and to people world over who have encountered rebellions of the body. Hope your book gets all the success it deserves!

neelthemuse@ 2013

 
15 Comments

Posted by on June 27, 2013 in Interviews with Poets

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “Ashok Rajamani

  1. Felipe Adan Lerma

    June 27, 2013 at 1:24 pm

    quite a story, glad you got this interview with ashok, quite an individual

    esp liked,

    “Be prepared to have meltdowns in the fight to write about your life.”

    and

    “Tears of joy carry more power than tears of pain, so I adore poets, novelists, and memoirists who understand the importance of mixing comedy with drama.”

    really enjoyed this, thank you neelima 🙂

    Like

     
  2. sunita perez

    June 27, 2013 at 11:56 pm

    just found out about this from ashok’s facebook wall. what a great interview!! really educational for all writers.

    Like

     
  3. neelthemuse

    June 28, 2013 at 2:01 am

    Thanks Sunita! Learned so much through this interaction!

    Like

     
  4. neelthemuse

    June 28, 2013 at 3:30 am

    I know Adan…sometimes the lives of those around us are lessons. His advice to writers rings so true…am so glad that you gained from this post. It gave me a lot of strength to look ahead and keep writing…

    Like

     
  5. omar vega

    June 28, 2013 at 6:16 am

    cool blog! brought here through ashok’s facebook. i’ve read and listened to many of the interviews he’s done, this is one of the nicest ones! very brief yet very insightful. ‘THE DAY MY BRAIN EXPLODED’ IS AMAZING, I RECOMMEND EVERYONE READ IT! also you should all listen to his radio interviews. you can actually hear him talk about his experience:
    http://www.ashokrajamani.com/events.htm

    Like

     
  6. neelthemuse

    June 29, 2013 at 1:44 am

    Thanks for the link Omar…will definitely listen. Such an inspiring story…I’m happy you stopped by!

    Like

     
  7. weareallthesameinside

    June 29, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    Incredible and candid interview. I have read TDMBE and recommend it to anyone who loves survival stories. I know Mr. Rajamani the maverick that he is will endure as a literary star of our time.

    Like

     
  8. neelthemuse

    July 2, 2013 at 9:54 am

    Thank you…it was such a great opportunity to talk with him…and learn…

    Like

     
  9. Anaperla Aureoles

    July 4, 2013 at 6:21 am

    Please excuse my poor grammar and spelling my friend. I need your book on tape. Remember, I am low vision.
    We are so proud of you. Job well done.

    Like

     
  10. vishalbheeroo

    July 4, 2013 at 12:47 pm

    such an awesome post and Ashok must be commended for going against the flow:)

    Like

     
  11. neelthemuse

    July 5, 2013 at 5:58 am

    Absolutely spot on!

    Like

     
  12. latika sha

    July 5, 2013 at 7:04 am

    FINISHED THIS BOOK LAST MONTH. TERRIFIC WORK. FUNNY, YET DRAMATIC. AS AN INDIAN AMERICAN TOO IT IS SO NICE TO READ A BOOK DETAILING THAT EXPERIENCE OF RACISM TOO! WAY TO GO ASHOK! (ps omar thanks for letting me know about this blog :))

    Like

     
  13. Eric Alagan

    July 5, 2013 at 9:14 am

    Interesting revelations – liked that bit about not following the ‘rules’ on writing query letters 🙂

    Like

     
  14. neelthemuse

    July 6, 2013 at 9:02 am

    Glad you gained from the interview Eric!

    Like

     
  15. neelthemuse

    July 6, 2013 at 9:03 am

    Thank you Latika…so happy you stopped by.

    Like

     

Your take....

 
