RSS

Lonely Blogger, who gives a shit?

01 Nov

Forgive me for the obscure title.

I’m reading a wonderful piece of fiction by Ruth Ozeki, and on page 25/26 of  her Booker Prize nominated novel  A Tale for the Time Being , she writes about blogging. Since this is a blog, I had to post it here:

“It made me sad when I caught myself pretending that everybody out there in cyberspace cared about what I thought, when really nobody gives a shit.And when I multiplied that sad feeling by all the millions of people in their lonely little rooms, furiously posting to their lonely little pages that nobody has time to read because they’re all so busy writing and posting, it kind of broke my heart.”

Don’t you want to pick up this book right now?

neelthemuse@ 2013

Check out my book Unsettled @ the Indireads Book Store: http://indireads.com/books/unsettled

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 1, 2013 in Day to day

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Lonely Blogger, who gives a shit?

  1. Felipe Adan Lerma

    November 1, 2013 at 4:20 pm

    it’s a poignant take, but make me want to pick up the book, no, at least not right now, though i’ve a suspicion it’ll remain in my mind to 😉

    my wife and i were just talking about something similar, or at least related, to this

    we were remarking at all the wonderful Halloween pictures our kids and other family had put up of the grandkids, nieces, nephews, etc – and not just of this year, but from the past decade plus, and realized, it was because of the digital capabilities –

    when she and i were growing, and when we were first raising our kids, the cost of film and developing, not to mention those crazy flash cubes and a camera itself, inhibited us from taking as many images as we’re able to enjoy now

    so yes, there are many millions of not only lonely people, but lonely moments, we evidently, we’re becoming aware of them, share them, and that means something to me – and the author may well have also, i haven’t read the book, yet, but yes, probably remain in my mind to, because its existence, and the author’s, was able to be communicated about…

    thanks neelima, very thought provoking thought this morning 😉 i best go do my young senior stretches 😉

    Like

     
  2. neelthemuse

    November 2, 2013 at 4:10 am

    Oh dear….it is a beautiful book Felipe….in fact it is sensitive take on bullying…this quote only illustrates how connected the character is to the world we live in…the world of internet searches and blogging and texting….and incidentally Ruth Ozeki, the writer, does have a blog…

    Like

     
  3. Claire 'Word by Word'

    November 2, 2013 at 9:14 am

    Can’t wait to read this book, but I can’t quite relate to the melancholic view, because I think the caring is in the comments, or maybe we should say interested. Blog posts are about people’s need to express themselves which is a kind of selfish act in itself I guess, but rather than bore one’s friends or family, it offers the opportunity to connect, even if only briefly with another soul on the same wavelength for a little while. We shouldn’t make them into more than what they are, but they represent brief moments of human connectivity even if they exist in a virtual world. I see how some of them are morphing into vlogs and wonder if that is an attempt to bridge that gap between connecting through words and a need for some to be more physically present. They are certainly engaging even though I couldn’t imagine doing that myself.

    I really enjoyed your book and I am still thinking about it, I wrote honest comments off the top of my head on Goodreads, which will settle into something more considered before I write on my blog.

    Like

     
  4. Felipe Adan Lerma

    November 2, 2013 at 11:53 am

    ahh, that sounds interesting too neelima, thanks so much; bullying is such a terrible thing, i had my share of it, being the only hispanic in an upper-middle school, though, back then, the kids laid off if someone came by and told them to stop and be ashamed of themselves, which, from things i’ve read at dversepoets, isn’t as true anymore, and is big negative vs the ease of sharing and enjoying the lives of people we love; thanks so much for letting me know 😉

    Like

     
  5. neelthemuse

    November 4, 2013 at 10:43 am

    Thank you so much for your measured review Claire…you are so right about blog posts being seen in the right perspective. I liked talking about poetry and I found blogging a constructive way of actually learning more about it. Because of this blog I have connected with so many readers and interviewed poets and writers who care so much for the written word. In the book, the character is melancholic….it is a sad story but so humanely and compassionately constructed, I’m terribly excited about being immersed in the book right now. You must read it!

    Like

     
  6. neelthemuse

    November 4, 2013 at 10:46 am

    It must have been hard…guess all of us go through bullying at some point. Thank you Felipe for sharing your experience here! It doesn’t matter now after all this time, but growing up all this taunting and teasing is a hell of a big deal….poetry is one way out of it….:)

    Like

     
  7. Corinne Rodrigues

    November 7, 2013 at 7:47 am

    This seems like a book I’d like to read, Neelima. Going to check it out. About lonely blogs, I believe that blogs are lonely only when we don’t take the time to connect with other bloggers – because frankly non-bloggers might read, but hardly ever comment on blogs!

    Like

     
  8. neelthemuse

    November 7, 2013 at 9:01 am

    Point noted Corinne….bloggers connecting can change the lonely blog scenario. The character in this story waits for a hit…her act of writing is an offering to the reader, the one who stumbles on her work. Thank you for stopping by Corinne!

    Like

     

Your take....

 
