RSS

Of journals….

04 Dec

I’ve been reading a bit about journaling …..incidentally a diary is a journal is a diary. The two words are interchangeable. While googling, I discovered that there are many misconceptions about the diary and the journal being two very different things. Would really like your feedback on this.

I’m also a big fan of published diaries- it is ironic that what you write for yourself can become an object of some other’s scrutiny.

Here’s an excerpt of the article I wrote @ Indireads:

“I like the idea of a journal because I write it for me, meaning am my Target Audience—this gives my imagination a lot of free rein.

Take a look at some of poet Bernadette Mayer’s journal concepts: Dreams, food, finances, ideas, love, ideas for architects, city designs…even telephone conversations. There are six pages of journaling ideas and concepts that Bernadette lists. It is a landmine of prompts and I’m thinking of posting it in my room. You should too.”

Please do visit the site to read more and do comment.

 

neelthemuse@ 2013

 

 

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 4, 2013 in Indireads, Prompts

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Of journals….

  1. Felipe Adan Lerma

    December 4, 2013 at 4:55 pm

    diary, journal, and daily meditations – very much aligned i’d think 🙂

    whether exactly, not sure; different words, slightly differing connotations at least

    beyond that, hmmmm, food for thought 🙂 thanks neelima!

    Like

     
  2. neelthemuse

    December 5, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    Thanks Felipe….absolutely aligned they are!

    Like

     
  3. spunkybong

    December 8, 2013 at 11:20 am

    Inspirational, thank you. I liked what another reader, Abha, has written too.

    Like

     
  4. neelthemuse

    December 9, 2013 at 4:42 am

    Thanks Achyut! Glad you liked the write-up!

    Like

     

Your take....

 
