RSS

That long silence and reading Cleland’s Room of Thieves

25 Feb

It’s been a while since I posted. It has been almost three years now since this blog was conceptualized in a sudden impulsive mood. I just realized that!

Being off of the blog for a while reminded me of a poem I wrote in 2012 called Angry Young Blog.

There are times when the blog likes to be quiet as well. Blogs change like the people who write them. Last year I read and studied a lot of poetry. This year I’m delving into fiction a bit more.

In spite of that self- proclamatory fiction obsession, I couldn’t help  picking up this delightful book by Angela Cleland called Room of Thieves. It is a clever book full of sharp edges and a very original rendition.

room of thieves

Look at a small extract from this poem Frozen points

We are nasty, cubist, snagging on each others’

angles, grow more acute at every irritation.

The anger of trigonometry frustrated

is sharp in brows, is taut in bodies drawn with bows,

stings along the rims of eyes held open too long

between dry blinks….”

The book is filled with aggressive instances such as these crossing geographies from the Loch to as far away as Machu Pichu, There is an undercurrent of explosiveness that runs through this string of pearls. Cleland doesn’t shy away from using different forms either.

You can read some extracts here. Really inventive and fresh.

A prose poem I liked very much was Dusk:

The chair has no idea. That luxurious creak as I shift in it slowly, lay my head back and pen myself to the afternoon light. The air has no idea, drawing its cool scarf across my arched throat. The bird has no idea….”

and she goes on to a mesmerizing climax. Teaser enough for you?

I don’t think any one should worry about quietness at the blogs they write. It may mean many things- exploring new themes or removing the monotony of every day. A blog is like your second skin- it is strange that I write differently while I write my blog posts and am much much more hesitant to ‘be me’ at social media.

In fact writing this blog has changed the course of my life- I realized that I must invest more time with poetry.

How do you deal with quietness at your blog?

© neelthemuse, 2014

Check out my book Unsettled @ Amazon

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2014 in Books, Day to day, Inspiration

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “That long silence and reading Cleland’s Room of Thieves

  1. lyricalself

    March 25, 2014 at 7:44 am

    Can identify with this, Neelima. I have a blog too and somehow have kept away from it, though ideas do flit in and out. Don’t want to make it routine; when I write want to feel that rush of adrenaline and not make it like a task !! Or is it just laziness ?

    Lakshmi

    Like

     
  2. Priya

    July 26, 2014 at 6:49 pm

    I know one is not supposed to, but judging by its cover, the book seems charmingly artsy. I have a thing for prose poems; thanks for that excerpt from Dusk. This book, I will buy.

    Like

     

Your take....

 
