RSS

Writing and Background Score

13 Jan

I used to be a silent writer. Which means I seldom listened to music when I wrote. The silence arranged sentences for me.

But of late I’ve taken to listening to background scores of movies and surprise, surprise! some writing seems to unblock itself. Writing to a rhythm could perhaps help when you are stuck in a particular scene. The character then climbs on the chords of someone else’s imagination and grows a life of his own. Different tunes cater to different situations, of course.

Many times when I start writing, I take a while to get out of my life and into the page. Listening to music I like seems to cut down this time.

I’m aware that many writers have playlists that they listen to while writing. Found this: http://www.tweetspeakpoetry.com/30-awesome-music-playlists/

I tried listening to songs with lyrics in them but it’s distracting and pales in comparison to Oscar winning scores. Have you tried listening to Western Classical or Indian classical instrumental tunes while writing? What would you recommend? I’m new to this, so I would like some sound advice.

002g4wuryq-isaac-ibbott

P.S: Music, however, has a problem. It doesn’t leave your mind…it is circular in shape.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2017 in Inspiration

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Writing and Background Score

  1. simon7banks

    January 13, 2017 at 9:11 am

    It can help to develop a mood. As you say, it takes you out of everyday concerns. I only have Western classical, folk/folk-rock/protest and one or two bits of Chinese and Scottish bagpipe. I definitely wouldn’t use anything with words, as the sense of the words too much directs the imagination. For me, light, upbeat classical (Mozart?) wouldn’t work either, or anything too full of action and excitement (Tchaikovsky?). Otherwise, it’s the music I like best – Sibelius, Nielsen, Bruckner, Grieg, Rachmaninov, Vaughan Williams.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. D. Wallace Peach

    January 13, 2017 at 6:14 pm

    I used to write to instrumental music, and then stopped because it was too evocative! My writing was all sort of dreamy. 😀 Now, I might use it during a later draft as a way to refine the prose.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Neelima

    January 16, 2017 at 6:16 am

    That’s an impressive list Simon…thank you!

    Like

     
  4. Neelima

    January 16, 2017 at 6:18 am

    I felt this too Diana. The music helps more when you are trying to rearrange existing material.

    Liked by 2 people

     
  5. Deepak.B

    February 12, 2017 at 7:16 am

    Hi Neelima . I want my Novel to be edited and I want to Speak to you in person regarding the same .Could you pls revert back on ways to reach you .

    Liked by 1 person

     

Your take....

 
